10 Songs that I’ve Attempted During Karaoke

Back when I worked for the Board of Ed, singing in front of my coworkers during office parties was more or less obligatory. I never really got over my extreme embarrassment, but I did come up with a few stand-by songs. Here are some that I sang with varying degrees of success:

1. You Are My Sunshine

This one shows up in just about every karaoke song book in Japan. This was my go-to number.

2.Top of the World

This was a close second. I sang this many times, while channeling Karen Carpenter.

3. Yellow Submarine

The Beatles remain very popular in Japan, even among young people, so even in the most remote corners of Japan in the late 1980s, this song was an option.

4. Hey, Jude

See above.

5. Stop! In the Name of Love

Being a big Supremes fan, I was always happy to find this one in the songbooks.

6. You Oughta Know

This was really difficult to sing, especially since I’m not one of those hardcore karaoke fans who practices beforehand. #karaokefail

7. Baby Love

See number #5 above.

8. Koibito ga Santa Claus

A popular Christmas standard in Japan, I sang this at least once.

9. Please Mr. Postman

Another Carpenters’ tune that I seemed to be able to manage.

10. Love Me Tender

A little bit too low for my vocal range, but I tried.

 

So what do you like to sing during karaoke?

 

 

4 thoughts on “10 Songs that I’ve Attempted During Karaoke

  1. I finally get a chance to sit and visit your blog! 🙂
    I enjoyed your list. Singing karaoké in public is a secret goal of mine – public = more fun (takes more guts), maybe for the chance of making an absolute, total fool of myself while giving my friends material to blackmail me for a lifetime. My list would include Coldplay’s What If, and a sappy love song I haven’t settled on yet…

  2. I love that you put together this trusty, personal song list. I always wish I had made one such grouping of songs. Always a bit tedious digging in and trying to work through the ginormous books. Your list gives us a really sweet look into your personality & style. My list would include many songs from Judy Blue Eyes & the Stones’ Wild Horses.

Leave a Reply

