The NEXT Next Big Thing

I was tagged for this meme by Caroline Grant, co-editor of the shiny new book, The Cassoulet Saved Our Marriage, which is a collection of essays about food and family. I’m waiting for the delivery guy to bring it even as I type! Anyway, this post is lon-n-n-g overdue, but here it is, finally. (And I realize I did this meme before, but I have many projects in the works!)

What is the title of your book?

The working title is Lilia’s World: Travels by Train, Plane, Bus and Wheelchair.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Lilia’s World will be a mother/daughter-with-disabilities travel memoir.

What genre does your book fall under?

Travel memoir.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

From my daughter’s desire to travel. I figured if I could get a huge advance to write a book about traveling with my daughter a la Elizabeth Gilbert with Eat, Love, Pray, we’d be able to fulfill her dream of going to Paris. I haven’t gotten a huge advance yet, but I was awarded a grant for this project.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I’m still working on it! I hope to have a polished draft finished by October. Right now, I’m at about the halfway point, but I cheated a little, because I have incorporated essays that I’ve written over the years.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My daughter, and our mutual wanderlust.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Hopefully represented by an agency!

What other works would you compare this book to within your genre?

French Milk by Lucy Knisley which is about a  mother/daughter trip to Paris from the daughter’s point of view. It’s illustrated, as I hope my book will be. (Illustrated by my daughter, I mean.) Also, Father’s Day by Buzz Bissinger, about a road trip the author took with his son who has special needs, but my book will have manga and macarons and more exotic destinations.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Again, this is difficult to answer because of the shortage of biracial actresses. Maybe my daughter could play herself and Naomi Watts could play me? 🙂

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

This is sort of the true life version of my forthcoming YA novel Gadget Girl (which I will be blogging about here heavily shortly, as the reviews, etc. come in). Sort of like life imitating fiction. My daughter and I are going to Paris in one week! We’ll be taking lots of notes, and my daughter will be sketching.

The idea of this meme is that I tag five more writers, and have them answer and ask the same questions. So I tag…YOU.

Leave a Reply

