Golf and Writing

I often say that writing is like golf. On the page and on the fairway, there is almost always room for improvement; it’s next to impossible to play a perfect round of golf, just as writing a perfect novel is pretty darn difficult.

My husband is very good at golf. His handicap is four, and he frequently wins the tournaments at his golf club. This, after thirteen years of hardly playing at all, due to his baseball coaching. Clearly, he is gifted. So I was a tad surprised when he announced a couple of months ago that he would begin golf lessons. Why fix what ain’t broke, right? After his first lesson, he found out that his stroke was all wrong, and he’s been working diligently to perfect it.

I’ve published  a novel, essays, and a bunch of stories. I’ve even won some awards. But I’d be the first to admit that I have a lot to learn when it comes to writing. I recently signed up for a course in writing young adult novels with media bistro. The idea is that you write a draft of a novel in 12 weeks using an outline. Although I prefer to write without a firm outline, I think it’ll be interesting to try something new. And although writing a novel in 12 weeks seems impossible, I’m looking forward to the challenge. Most of all, I’m looking forward to learning and inproving my craft.

3 thoughts on “Golf and Writing

  1. Best of luck with your new writing escapade. Looking forward to hear more about this program in future blog posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

