My Daughter Discovers the Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

In baby pictures, my daughter is often scrunching up her face in repulsion as her mother or father holds a spoon to her mouth. For a long while, she ate only bananas, bread and cheese. But since the age of four, she has become a hearty and adventurous eater. She also likes to experiment with her food, and comes up with original concoctions, some good (bananas and ice cream, sprinkled with cinnamon), some not so good (like the milk-with-watermelon-juice that she “made” the other night). All this allows me to dream of another possible future for her – cookbook author!

On a trip the States a few years ago, we discovered that she loves peanut butter, and I’ve kept a jar on hand for her ever since. She hasn’t had it in awhile, but this morning at breakfast, when I presented her with a plate of toast with jam, she asked for peanut butter. Now, this kid has never been introduced to that quintessential American kid food, the peanut-butter and jelly sandwich, so I was amazed.

“Did you see this on TV?” I signed.

She shook her head.

“Did you imagine this?”

“Yes.”

And did she like the sandwich?

Yes, she gobbled it up.

3 thoughts on “My Daughter Discovers the Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

  1. My kids, coming from a Russian culture, thought peanut butter was extremely gross for a long time. Then a Russian friend of mine told my daughter she had learned to love it, and Alesia quickly became a fan of it, then Michael. Sometimes they will eat a PB&J when nothing else will do.

    I tried to take a jar of peanut butter to Kazakhstan when I was adopting my son, and the airport security people in Frankfurt threw it away. Still makes me angry, to this day! I hope I never have to travel internationally again! LOL

  2. My five-year-old son refuses to eat PB&J. I am dumbfounded. It IS the ultimate American sandwich. I hope that soon he will see the error in his ways. What’s not to like about PB&J!?!? (And, it’s so easy, maybe that’s my real beef about his dislike!)

Leave a Reply

