Day of Dread

Yesterday was the dreaded home visit from my son’s teacher.  Although I’ve heard from others that some schools in the area are offering the option of at-school parent-teacher meetings in lieu of having the home room teacher drop in at the kid’s home tocheck out his/her living conditions, we were not given that choice.  Odd, isn’t it, when privacy is suddenly such a big issue in Japan that we’re not even allowed to know teachers’ addresses so that we can send a New Year’s greeting?! 

Anyhow, I’d told my son’s teacher that the originally desginated time would not be possible for me because I have to pick up my daughter from school.  He told me Friday evening that he’d reschedule and get back to me. 

Yesterday, after I picked him up from school, my son told me that his teacher was coming for the school visit that day.  This was news to me.  Jio had no idea what time he was coming, and there were no messages from the teacher in his notebook.  I wasn’t sure if perhaps Jio was mistaken, or if the teacher was going to make a commando home visit.  Then, about five p.m., the phone rang.  Teacher was trying to get to our house via his in-car navigational system, but was lost at some shrine.  Didn’t he have a map?!  I ran out into the rain to meet him and led him to our house.

Since I didn’t know for sure when he was coming, I hadn’t prepared tea or coffee or anything.  During the visit, I couldn’t find the opportune moment to jump up and make tea.  As it was, we were interrupted four times – by the guy who came to collect for the newspaper, by a delivery guy, by my daughter’s need to go to the bathroom, and by a phone call. I think there is something to be said for having a parent-teacher meeting in the peace and quiet of a school room.

2 thoughts on “Day of Dread

  1. So what was your impression of the teacher? It definitely sounds like an uncomfortable situation. As a future teacher, I think it would be great to be able to talk to parents in their home, but as a parent, I’m horrified about the dropping-in-unannounced aspect and the fact that you don’t have a choice in the matter.

  2. Actually, it was fine. I don’t usually get worked up about home visits. I know of mothers who do, and of mothers who go out and buy gifts and special treats, but I’m not about to bribe my kid’s teacher. This guy seems okay. We have similar views about the rote learning that is so prevalent here, and he agreed with me that cutting ten minutes from the kids’ lunch hour this year due to new Ministry of Education dictates was not a good thing.

Leave a Reply

