My Next Tryst

I mentioned before that my mother-in-law thinks that I’m having an affair (probably because I’ve gone out of town several times over the past year due to book-related events).  Well, I’ve got another one tomorrow that I’m really looking foward to.  I’ll be attending a book club meeting in Kobe.  Apparently there will be wine.  Looks like a good time!

I still think my husband is hot, but since my mother-in-law thinks I have a boyfriend, I’ve been trying to decide who this theoretical lover would be.  I’ve got a crush on Obama, but he’s happily married, and I respect that.  George Clooney would be another option.  But today I’m thinking it’s the surfer guy/yoga guru Eric in my novel. 

Meanwhile, moms all over the place seem to be in love/lust with Edward Cullen, the vampire in Stephanie Myer’s bestselling series.  I’ve started reading Twilight.  I think I get why these books are so popular.  I also had a revelation while reading – maybe instead of turning the sexy, mysterious Gypsy musician in my first (unpublished) novel into a heroin addict and having him run over by a train, I should have kept him alive and saved the first kiss between him and my heroine for the last page.

7 thoughts on “My Next Tryst

  1. I’m with you on George Clooney. Strangely, I’m developing some odd would-be crushes… like the guy who leads the kids on Karada de Asobo… or the kabuki bloke who sings and dances with children in Nihongo de Asobo! I really need to get out and with some adult company.

  2. I have a huge crush on one of the male main characters in my book too….

    As for Edward, well, I can theoretically get his appeeal, but the frequent references of the heroine being held to “his icy chest” don’t do much for me. I like my guys nice and warm!

  3. I have a huge crush on one of the male main characters in my book too….

    As for Edward, well, I can theoretically get his appeeal, but the frequent references of the heroine being held to “his icy chest” don’t do much for me. I like my guys nice and warm!

  4. Elaine, I have to agree about the icy chest thing. I like my men warm, too.

    Angela, I’ll have to check out the kabuki bloke…;-)

    And as for the movie version of Eric, hmmmm. What do you think? He’d have to look good with his shirt off.

Leave a Reply

