Reading with Mamas

Okay, I know I’ve been out of touch for awhile.  I’ve been buzzing around here and there, trying to get the word out about my books.  Yesterday I had the pleasure of reading with several editors of literary mama at the fabulous Blue Bicycle Books, owned by the truly gracious Jonathan Sanchez in Charleston, South Carolina.  In spite of the rain and wind resulting from Tropical Storm Fay, we had a nice little group on hand.  A few other mamas brought their kids, so there were children running around eating cookies, drunking lemonade, yanking the books off the shelves and tormenting the store cat.

For the first time ever, I read in front of my children.  At one point when I was reading about my daughter, I teared up, and Lilia patted my arm.  It was very sweet.  My son, who’d never read or heard one of my adult essays before, told me afterward that I’d done good job and that he’d almost cried as well.  So that was special.

Sonya Huber read an excerpt of her marvelous memoir Opa Nobody.  (Lilia enjoyed miming Sonya’s tatoo.)  Then Melinda Copp, assistant fiction editor, read a very interesting piece about alligators.  Amy Hudock, founder and editor-in-chief of Literary Mama, read her essay from A Cup of Comfort for Single Mothers, and Amy Mercer and Stephanie Hunt read from their columns.  In fact, we were treated to the world premier of Stephanie’s latest Great Green Room column which will be posted today. 

It was great to meet these wonderful women for the first time in person.   

Next weekend I’ll be at the Decatur Book Festival.  I’ll be sure to share my experiences here.

2 thoughts on “Reading with Mamas

  1. Heeey! Great to hear what you are up to. I am up late working so I happened to see your post float in on my RSS feed. Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures!

Leave a Reply

