The LYTP Book Tour!

I’m supposed to be getting the oil changed in my car, grading tests, making my kids do their homework, cleaning the toilets, or one of a million other things, but here I am at my computer, obsessively checking email, etc.  We’re leaving for the States in just a few days, during which I have five book-related events lined up.  The first will be on Saturday, August 9, at 1PM at Book Passage in Corte Madera, California. I’ll be appearing with Caroline Grant, who will talk about her book, Mama Phd., and Catherine Brady, whose story “Lives of the Saints” appears in Love You to Pieces, and maybe another Literary Mama as well.  I’m going to leave my kids with my parents.  They will still be jet-lagged.  I’m worried about them keeping my parents up all night, so for the first time ever, I am contemplating drugging them with Benadryl.  And I’m thinking I’d better get some drugs for myself as well – at least some melatonin.

On the afternoon of August 16, I’ll be at The Open Book in Greenville, South Carolina.  My sweet sister-in-law has volunteered to handle refreshments.  She asked me yesterday what color paper products would be good, so I suggested pink, like the book cover.

Next up, is me at The Happy Bookseller in Columbia, South Carolina, at 7PM on August 19. 

Then, I’ll be appearing at  Blue Bicycle Books in Charleston, South Carolina, at 1PM on August 23 along with Amy Hudock, founder and editor-in-chief of Literary Mama; columnist and assistant editor Stephanie Hunt; columnist and blog editor Amy Mercer; assistant fiction editor Melinda Copp; and creative non-fiction editor Sonya Huber.  Sonya will be selling copies of her new book, Opa Nobody.  Amy will be signing and selling Literary Mama: Reading for the Maternally Inclined (which includes stories by Sonya and me).

Finally, Labor Day weekend I’ll be appearing on two panels at the Decatur Book Festival.  On Saturday afternoon, Christine Thompson and I will talk about “Marrying the Other Side of the World” and on Sunday afternoon, Mary Jane Clark and I will address “Writing My Special Child.”

Hope to see some of you on the road!

5 thoughts on “The LYTP Book Tour!

  1. Hi Suzanne! It sounds like you ahve a great summer vacation lined up. Just a note about the Benadryl. Try it out on the kids BEFORE you need to use it. It hypes my little one up rather than knocks her out! Have a great trip!

  2. Thank you for making this book happen. I absolutely loved it (in the way you can “absolutely love” this sort of thing). And have shared it with 2 friends so far. Hope your tour gets closer to Louisiana.

  3. Thank you so much, Catherine! You know, I would love to go to Louisana to talk about this book, but it looks like I’ll have to wait till the next one.

Leave a Reply

