Ty Pennington and Me

I got myself invited to The Decatur Book Festival on Labor Day Weekend. I’ve never been to a book festival before either as a reader or a writer, so I’m very excited! The author line-up has just been announced, and it’s amazing!  Some writers whose work I’ve already read and enjoyed will be there, including ZZ Packer, Joshilyn Jackson and Lee Smith, and some other writers whose forthcoming books I’d already pre-ordered from Amazon, such as Cristina Thompson (white woman married to a Maori) and Randa Jarrar. There will also be some big league writers and TV stars like Ty Pennington, host of “Extreme Makeover: Home Version” and Kathy Reichs, whose mystery series inspired “Bones.” And, since it’s an election year, there’ll be some political types like John Dean (remember Watergate?) and Ernest “Fritz” Hollings. I’ll be on a health & wellness panel to discuss Love You to Pieces, and an international panel to talk about Losing Kei.

3 thoughts on “Ty Pennington and Me

  1. Congratulations — what a great experience it will be! Ty came to Starbucks headquarters, where I work, a few years ago. I can still hear all of the squeals that were coming from the open area where he was speaking. I think I was maybe one of the only women in the building who didn’t go to his reading :)! I’d definitely attend one of your sessions over his :)!

  2. Yeah, he’s cute, but not very literary, is he? I’m actually more excited about John Bemelmans Marciano, grandson of the creator of Madeline and author of the first new Madeline book in 50 years!

  3. I read Randa Jarrar’s blog–she’s so young and has already had such a fascinating life. Her new book sounds very interesting and has gotten good reviews.

Leave a Reply

