Dinner with a FEW good women

Yesterday evening I was the guest speaker at the monthly meeting of FEW Kansai.  The event was held at the Osaka Hilton.  I dressed up, but I still felt kind of gauche hefting my 15-year-old L.L. Bean back pack (stuffed with books) past the Chanel boutique.  I arrived kind of early, so I treated myself to a ten-dollar cake set in the hotel coffee shop.

With a name like Foreign Executive Women, I was sort of expecting intimidating CEOs in power suits, but the women who turned up were all very friendly and interesting and fun to talk to.  I met an aeriliast, the vice counsel, a former journalist and an aspiring journalist, and even some women with connections to South Carolina.   In short, I had a great time. 

I’d thought about staying overnight in Osaka, but when I found out that there was a ten thirty bus I decided to come home.  I got up this morning to make my son’s bento, then went back to bed for two hours.  Bliss!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

