Dream Come True

According to Amazon.com, today is the official publication date of Love You to Pieces.  Reason enough to celebrate, right?

But get this:  Lilia has learned to say “Mama”!

We’ve worked on this for awhile.  For a long time, when she wanted my attention, she called out “Ahhhhhhh.”  And then, after she got her cochlear implant, she called me “baba”.  She could hear the difference, but the “m” sound is really hard for her.  I had her touch my nose while I said “mama” so she could feel the vibrations, and sometimes she could do it, but when she tried too hard, it always came out “baba.”  The other day, she commanded my attention and pronounced “mama”.  She was very proud that she could say it without touching her nose.  I’ve been waiting years for this moment.  No one could have given me a better Mother’s Day gift.

11 thoughts on “Dream Come True

  1. Hi! I recently discovered this blog and I’ve been brought out of lurking to say Congratulations! That sounds like the best Mother’s Day gift.

  2. Ok Sue, that post made me come very close to crying. I can’t imagine how happy you must have been at the moment she called you “Mama”. She’s learning so much and growing so fast, isn’t she?

    And congrats on yet another book! I’m so happy for you. Keep up the good work!

    T

Leave a Reply

