A brief rant about remote controls

This morning I spent about ten minutes looking for the remote control for the TV because Lilia wanted to change the channel.  Yesterday I was frantically searching for the thing because the volume was way too loud: another ten minutes.  There are remote controls strewn all over our house – five or six (or more) for the various a/c wall units, one for my portable radio, four to six for the various TVs, DVD players, and video players, one for  the overhead light in my children’s room, and I think there’s even one somewhere for the kerosene heater.  Needless to say, they are always getting lost, running out of batteries, or generally confusing their users.   Things were much simpler when all you had to do was push a button.

And why, may I ask, do the Japanese need remote controls for portable radios and overhead lights?  Many Japanese people live in tiny apartments, so in theory, one would only have to stretch across the room to turn on the radio or light. When the kids use the remote to turn off their light, it invariably gets lost in the bed covers, and then the next evening, I have to feel around in the dark to find the remote so I can turn the light on!

 Maybe the problem is me.  Japan is said to be one of the most (if not the most) technologically advanced nations in the world.  I am more of a Luddite.  I wrote my novel by longhand in various spiral notebooks.  I cannot figure out how to work the video phone feature on my mobile. 

My husband, who is very tech-savvy, told me that he feels sorry for me because I don’t know how to use my cell phone for anything except making calls. Meanwhile, I just want all of those remote controls to go away.

2 thoughts on “A brief rant about remote controls

  1. No, I don’t think you’re the problem. Japan even has the electronic pencil eraser! Is that really necessary?

  2. I laughed about your cell phone — I only use my cell for making calls, too. The other night my husband was reading our cell phone manual. “What are you doing?!” I asked. “Figuring out how to use all the features on the phone.” Personally dialing it is all I need to know how to do. Unless of course these phones can clean our house…

Leave a Reply

