The Language of Laundry

How is this for irony?  Whenever my mother-in-law is mad at us, she leaves our laundry alone.  We can tell that she is in a good mood when she starts messing with it again. 

Once in awhile I beat her to it, and she apologizes for not taking down the laundry.  “It’s not your job,” I muttered the last time that happened.

Last weekend, when I was off interviewing for the Eiken (standardized English test), my husband told her very sternly not to touch our laundry.  He took it down himself.

The following day, my mother-in-law complained to me that the son she had raised had been rude to her about the laundry.  She took it down yesterday anyway.

3 thoughts on “The Language of Laundry

  1. wow, she just doesn’t get it. poor lady, she is so intent on doing her son’s laundry.

    once i offended my MIL over my laundry, too. i re-hung some things because i didn’t like the way she had done it. of course, she just complained to my husband, putting him in the middle.

  2. Our m-i-ls must have some kind of cosmic connection. I finally put a pole up on the second floor where she is (anmoku no ryokai) not allowed. It was the ONLY way to get peace in the laundry wars. And, yes, it is a horrible irony at our house, too, that when my m-i-l is REALLY feeling good, it means misery for us because she is genki and bound and determined to stick her nose in our business. When she is down and depressed (or so we imagine), she leaves us blissfully alone.

    I must say, your friend “illahee” has the right idea–when possible, do rehang her things.

Leave a Reply

