To the Ex-Boyfriend Who Works in “The Industry”

So I’ve been thinking, what sort of idiot would say to her one connection in Hollywood, “I’d rather you didn’t read the book”?  I changed my mind.  Go ahead!  Buy my book!  Read my novel!  Pass it around!  Or maybe you could just get some celebrity to carry it around while paparazzi are present.  Personally, I think it would make a great movie – sort of a cross between “Blue Crush” (though most people don’t mention the surfing) and “Not Without My Daughter” or, as my publisher puts it, “Lost in Translation” meets “Kramer vs. Kramer.” 

And by the way, it’s fiction!

P.S.  I hope your family is well. 

3 thoughts on “To the Ex-Boyfriend Who Works in “The Industry”

  1. Absolutely, he should read the book. It’s funny because I didn’t mention the surfing either, but I loved that it was in the book. There was just so much else to say!

  2. I heard that sales of ‘Skinny Bitch’ went through the roof after Posh Spice (who People magazine quoted as saying ‘I’ve never read an entire book in my whole life’ (yikes – sounds like Scary Spice to me…)) was photographed carrying it. So maybe you could rename your book ‘Skinny women losing their kids’ or something and send along a copy to the Beckhams… 😉

  3. That’s an idea. I also know someone in Washington D.C. who has translated for Hillary Clinton. Maybe he can somehow get my book into Laura Bush’s hands. When she said that she was reading Cara Black’s books, sales shot up…I can dream, can’t I?

Leave a Reply

