Home Alone

So we’re back home, and I’m alone in the house.  How odd after three weeks of togetherness!  There is no husband hovering, waiting to check the Japanese news sites; no kids wanting to play games with their Webkinz; no parents waiting for me to disconnect so that they can use the telephone.  (So now you know why I didn’t blog much while on vacation.)

We had a bit of an adventure after deplaning in Osaka Monday night.  We got off the plane, carrying heavy Lilia, and there was no wheelchair!  The cabin crew assured us that the wheelchair had been loaded onto the plane, but all we saw were three airport wheelchairs and a folded stroller.  One of the flight attendants went looking for it and came back with a little old Chinese lady riding around in Lilia’s chariot!  “No wonder it’s so small,” she reportedly said upon being advised of her error.  Lilia was outraged, but happy to get it back. 

3 thoughts on “Home Alone

  1. ^0^ (that’s supposed to be a shocked face). Not what you need after an overseas flight halfway around the world.

    My son really got into Webkinz over the summer (in Canada). He doesn’t use the computer that much for them now but is quite faithful about sleeping with the gang of them (at last count, a frog, a panda, an elephant and a reindeer).

  2. Hi Suzanne,

    Reading other comments on your old blog, I found this one. I just “discovered” you in the Daily Yomiuri today and I’m impressed before I even read a word you’ve written. I’m a writer/translator in Gunma and look forward to more contact with you. Also hope to read your books. I’ll be making a trip to CA soon and plan to buy them athere. Before even reading Love You to Pieces, I’m wondering if you’ve considered writing about children with mental disorders?

    The story about the LOL and your daughter’s wheelchair blends perfectly with your posting on the Laundry Wars to create–my own mother-in-law. (motto: “If I believe it to be true, it must be–no matter what the facts have to say!”)

  3. Before my daughter was born, I had only a vague idea of what cerebral palsy was. So now I’m writing about what it means to be the mother of a child with cerebral palsy partly in order to inform those who are as ignorant as I was.

Leave a Reply

