Birthday

So yesterday was my birthday.  I didn’t realize this before, but I was born on the same day as Truman Capote.  When I was in high school, especially, I was a huge Capote fan, so that’s kinda cool.

I was in a fog all day because I’d stayed up too late the night before.  I basically lounged around and let my kids watch as much TV as they wanted.  Yoshi rented “The Devil Wears Prada,” which I love, for after dinner entertainment.

My mother-in-law made a steak dinner for me, and there was chocolate cake.  (So much for the diet, huh?)  And then the presents, of course.  My husband gave me an electronic dictionary to replace my tattered Webster’s, which is actually in three pieces and missing C through E.  Among its many features, the electronic dictionary has a test for brain age.  In stage one, you have to solve math equations.  In stage two, you have two minutes to memorize a list of words in hiragana (Japanese), and then you are supposed to type them in.  According to the results of the test, my brain age is 55. 

5 thoughts on “Birthday

  1. Happy Belated Birthday!!!

    I got a little reminder (balloons with hatted silhouette) under your icon on myspace, but then I didn’t log on yesterday to remember! (does that even make sense?)

    Can you type hiragana into your dictionary and get the definition in hiragana or do you have to know kanji to use it? Years ago I was looking for one that either used hiragana or romaji. Wondering if they make them now.

  2. Happy birthday!

    Those brain-age games are fun to do, but the scoring system is a real downer, i.e. the best score is brain age 20. I mean I knew I was decaying physically year by year, but to hear that my mind is, if you think along carbon dating lines, basically half as sharp as it once was, is very depressing…

  3. Thanks for the birthday wishes!

    I haven’t really had much of a chance to use my new dictionary, as other family members have been playing with it. (It looks sort of like a Nintendo game.) I think that you can type in hiragana and get the definition in English.

Leave a Reply

