Dreaming of a Barrier Free Beach

Yesterday we took our annual trip to the beach.  I love going to the beach, and we live only about 10 km. from a decent swimming beach, but it’s next to impossible for me to take the kids by myself.  My husband doesn’t like the beach.  I guess he doesn’t like all the sand that gets in his car afterwards. 

A year or so ago, I bought one of those plastic sleds thinking that we could pull Lilia across the sand.  It’s quite a schlep from the parking lot to the water, but Yoshi carried her.  He said she’s too heavy for the sled now.  We used it to tow our towels and the big shovel that Yoshi always brings along to bury the kids in the sand.

There must be a better way.  There must be all-terrain wheelchairs or something.  Maybe we could rig up one with all-terrain bicycle tires. 

Anyway, we had a good time.  It was kind of late in the day, and the tide was coming in so we had to keep moving our stuff.  Yoshi’s sunglasses were washed out to sea, and he almost lost his shoes.

I tried not to be hyper-protective as the waves washed over my son’s head.  Whenever he ducked under on purpose, I had a flash of panic, but I didn’t say anything.  He’s already neurotic enough because of me.  The only truly scary moment was when Lilia slipped out of her floating ring and went under.  Luckily, both parents were standing right there. 

I told Yoshi that we should go to the beach at least two more times this summer, but I don’t think it’ll happen.  Oh, well.  There’s always next year.

4 thoughts on “Dreaming of a Barrier Free Beach

  1. We don’t even think of taking my mom to the beach. The wheelchair we push (we rarely take the power chair out of the house) is a bear to roll over uneven ground, like at a flea market she wanted to see last year. But the beach? wow. I agree that there should be more all terrain vehicles for those with handicaps. Luckily, my mom is not a sun worshipper. Good luck with this problem…

  2. There are beach wheelchairs out there with large rubber tires– I see that Greg has included a link for you.

    Or heck, you can buy an ATV and roll into the beach on that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

