The Galleys

Although I have not yet seen them, my publisher has informed me that the galleys for Losing Kei are now ready.  The galleys, for those of you unfamiliar with the publishing process, are a prepublication version of the book sent to trade publications that influence book store buyers like Publisher’s Weekly and Kirkus Reviews, and magazines and newspapers with a long lead time in order to give them a chance to review the book around the time it is officially published.  For awhile, at least, I can fantasize about my book making its way into the offices of Vanity Fair, Vogue,  and O, The Oprah Magazine, and other big glossies and maybe attracting some attention.   I don’t need to be on Oprah’s talk show.  I just want to be in her magazine.  

4 thoughts on “The Galleys

  1. That’s great Sue!! Don’t you also get the galleys to proof or is that stage come and gone? It would be quite a coup to be in Oprah’s magazine… I wonder if some of those magazines accept freelance written reviews…?

Leave a Reply

