More on Boys Who Cry

So you may be wondering what happened with the summer baseball tournament.  Having read the title of this post, you’ve probably guessed already that my husband’s team…lost.  I was there for their first game of the tournament, sweating beneath my black parasol in the 30 degree Centrigrade heat.  There were a lot of exciting plays including a homerun by one of Kita High School’s hitters in the first inning, a couple of guys tagged out when they stepped off third base.  I thought they played their hearts out.  At the bottom of the ninth, the score was tied 7-7. The other team was up at bat with two outs, and a runner on third.  I had to leave at that point to pick up Lilia from school.  I heard later that the game went on for two more innings.  According to the newspaper, my husband consoled his crying players.  I’m not sure which is worse – to lose in the very first game, knowing that you have a strong team, or the very last game (like last summer).  The next day, he got an anonymous phone call at work.  Some guy ( a father?) called up and said, in a menacing voice, “I saw that game.”  So is our house going to get TPed  or something over high school baseball???

One thought on “More on Boys Who Cry

Leave a Reply

